Seamwork Magazine: Issue #3, The Lingerie Issue

Colette Patterns launched Seamwork Magazine in December of 2014. I’ve always been a huge fan of Sarai and the work that she produces. While I have yet to sew a Colette pattern, I love how she makes sewing accessible and less intimidating, especially for beginners. I really appreciate all of the complimentary photo tutorials and guides she puts together, and it makes me want to sew my little heart out! (I finally have my Laurel fabrics laundered and pattern pieces taped. Tracing the pattern onto fabric and cutting it are the least enjoyable aspects of sewing for me, so this is where all the procrastination usually takes place…) I totally love the premise behind Seamwork: basic projects that don’t require hours and hours of sewing. Seamwork is available by subscription for $6/month, inclusive of two patterns.

What I like about Seamwork Magazine is that the content isn’t geared solely towards people who sew; the articles are thoughtful and offer insight into the garment making industry. If you don’t sew or have no interest in the patterns, I have great news! Seamwork Magazine is actually free. :) The $6 is really just for the patterns. The magazine can be downloaded or viewed online… for free!

Blah blah blah, so why mention all of this? Well…

February’s issue is actually their lingerie issue, and I would be remiss to not mention this to all of my readers! I have dabbled in sewing lingerie, am interested in general sewing technique, and love lingerie, so this issue is pretty much a dream come true for me. If you love lingerie, perhaps you’d be interested in reading about the creative and production aspects behind making it. :)

Seamwork Magazine Issue 3, February 2015. (c) Colette Media LLC.

Seamwork Magazine Issue 3, February 2015. (c) Colette Media LLC.

My three favorite contributions to this issue are
Choosing the right fabrics
Anatomy of a bra
Behind the seams: construction of a 1950s bullet bra

…But I’m in love with pretty much everything! I mean, how can you say “no” to dyeing tutorials or creating your own marbled fabric? I honestly hope to have some time to knock out the Geneva knickers and the Florence bralette, but we’ll see if home DIY precedes any recreational sewing (it usually always does…). Seamwork Magazine also has some gorgeous photographs within their articles which truly make it a pleasure to read. I hope that you’ll enjoy reading this as much as I did!

+ Seamwork Magazine
+ Colette Patterns

I’m so sorry if this post reads like an ad, but I guarantee you that it is 100% not! Colette Patterns/Seamwork Magazine did NOT ask me to write this (and I doubt that they know that this blog exists). I was just extremely excited about this issue and wanted to share it with other lingerie lovers because it’s just that good! I personally purchased my subscription to Seamwork Magazine.

1 comment

Leave a Reply

