Shifting Priorities

Happy November! For those who celebrate, I hope you had a Happy Halloween! I spent this past week with my dear friend and got to experience first-hand a New England fall, complete with carving pumpkins, picking apples, watching Halloween movies, and realizing you can drive 45 minutes and end up in another state. ;)

These past few months, I have spent too much on lingerie! After looking through my drawer, I’m going to gradually put down the brakes on any new acquisitions until I come to a full stop. There are just a few things left that I want that I’ve been stalking for so many months…

As much as I’d like to think that lingerie is an investment, to me, it isn’t. I view it as a consumable, if not a depreciating asset, especially knickers! (But don’t get me wrong; I will still support and pay designers for their gorgeous works.) As much as I’d love to have a glorious closet full of beautiful underthings, I’m more concerned about, in no particular order:

1. Maxing out my 401(k)
2. Looking into my IRA and contributing/maximizing my contributions
3. Putting more into savings
4. Aggressively paying off my mortgage.

I know. SO BORING, right?
(This almost seems like a joke and that my blog has been hacked. I promise it hasn’t.)

Lingerie has always been my little side hobby, but I have always worried about my financial future, especially with the economy being rather unpredictable. With 2015, I hope to have more liquid assets, so I can put some siding on my house! And maybe a new roof. :p

The reason why I mention ALL THE BORING THINGS is because this will most definitely affect the direction of my blog. Recently, I’ve written more about things I could buy now, but when it comes to tightening the belt, lingerie/clothing is always the first to go.

I’ve always obligated to be honest with people who read about what I have to say. I try not to craft an internet persona or mislead people to think I live a certain lifestyle. I’m not sponsored (this blog does not pay the bills), and I have bills to pay. I work a corporate desk job. I budget – usually VERY STRICTLY – with Mint.com, cook most of my meals, drag my butt to the gym, and watch copious amounts of Netflix when I’m not at work or volunteering.

That’s pretty much my daily life in a nutshell.

So here’s the immediate shortlist of things I have planned:
1. Focusing more and writing about the pieces I already own and love
2. Sewing my own basic lingerie (I’ve sewn for many years now but can’t shake the irrational terror of sewing garments)

If there’s anything you’d like to see/read/talk about, please feel free to contact me via the form, on social media, or leave a comment.

And as always, thank you for stopping by and for taking the time to read. I truly do appreciate everyone who spends the time to read all the things that come out of my brain. I hope you you all enjoy your extra hour! :)

6 comments
  1. Avigayil said:

    I love the idea of writing on pieces you already own and love. <3 Look forward to seeing them!

    • Miss Mew said:

      Thank you! I’m soooo sorry for responding so late. :( Been trying to get back into a better state of mind (and being a bit distracted by other sewing projects…)

  2. Estelle said:

    Sounds exciting, I know what you mean about limited funds (on maternity pay right now so bye bye disposable income!) but it’s great you have other things to blog about :) I wish I could be that dedicated to paying off my mortgage ha, if it’s a choice between overpaying that and some beautiful knickers on sale the knickers usually win, woops…

    You might find the lingerie sewing resources on my website useful > http://www.estylingerie.com/how-to-make-lingerie-19-w.asp Maddie from the amazing sewing blog Madalynne.com (totally recommend it and she recently started sewing more lingerie rather than just clothing) wrote some awesome guides including tips on which fabrics/elastics to use for what, and she created a free knicker pattern for us too which you can download from there if you’re interested :D

    Look forward to seeing what you make!

    • Miss Mew said:

      Hi, Esty! Thank you for your comment! I’m so sorry it has taken me FOREVER to respond. :/ I’ve been spending time on some other sewing projects and trying to get ready for the holidays. :)

      Thank you so much for posting your links to making your own lingerie! It will be super helpful to refer to. I’d like to write about making my own lingerie, but I find myself a bit hard pressed for time nowadays. But I hope to do so when I have some time in December!

  3. Ooooh! I cannot wait to see what lingerie you sew in the coming months. I find lingerie sewing difficult and could do with some inspiration to pick it up again.
    And as boring as it may initially seem, saving and paying off mortgages are totally worth it. Go you!

    • Miss Mew said:

      Hihi! I’m so sorry for taking forevvvvver to respond. I’ve been doing some felt food hand sewing as a sewalong… Will be ongoing for a few weeks!

      I made a pair of knickers and posted them on Instagram, but I’d like to write more about it here. :) I LOVE all of your knitting. I am seriously always amazed at people who knit up such beautiful creations. I’ve tried my hand at knitting, and it requires waaay too much effort and concentration on my part.

      Thank you!! <3 I really do want to save more next year. Property tax bill is going to clean me out… :x EEK!

Leave a Reply

