Revisiting Victoria’s Secret: Part 1

Can I confess something?

Lately, I’ve been somewhat obsessed with Victoria’s Secret. WHAT IS HAPPENING.

Prior to this month, I have never, ever bought anything from them. Simply put, I did not like their lingerie, nor did I find their designs something I would wear. I found Pink to be terrible and tacky and wondered how sweatpants tracksuit trends were still managing to perform. Who actually buys this stuff?

Apparently, I do.

Apparently, I do.

While I typically prefer smaller and/or independent companies, I realize that the price point and accessibility are typically a pain in the ass. I completely understand the cost of materials and labor, but I would venture to say that most people in the US are unwilling or unable to pay that much for a designer bra for whatever reason. No judgement. I also find myself passing on a lot of things I like because I have to be, you know, responsible.

And when I have more disposable income to purchase something pretty, I find myself getting exasperated with sizing, worrying something won’t fit, and then dealing with a return despite googling and reading every single review I can get my hands on. I typically have the “buying lingerie internationally game down,” but when it comes to brands that are new to me (ahem, Gossard, Kiss Me Deadly), it can be disheartening and expensive, especially when it comes to shipping something overseas with the “new” USPS pricing scheme based on thickness.

Lingerie sizing is unbelievably finicky, so I understand the appeal in purchasing something in person. While Victoria’s Secret is soooooo limited in their sizing, they’re physically there and become an option, if not THE option, for many women. Maybe one day, they will offer more than the standard 32/34/36/38 band with the A/B/C/D/DD cup… Many of their styles don’t even offer that much size variety, either. One bra might come in 9 sizes only. Their website navigation is not the best, and their inventory varies on a near daily basis. I view them as a primary brick and mortar store. If you see something you like, get it because it may not be available online.

As I previously wrote, I hate the overtly sexual marketing campaigns that lingerie companies use. I don’t think Victoria’s Secret is the absolute worst offender, but it’d be nice if they could drop the “Very Sexy” category, which IMO, is a stupid qualifier. I know that they try to sell you an image, even projecting their Angel name on their customers, but let’s be real now.

Okay, now that that’s out of the way…

I’m really digging the direction of their lingerie. I’m liking what I’m seeing and have actually made purchases from the store. While chatting with Leandra, one of the lingerie consultants at my local shop, she informed me that the company has been listening to customer input, and the newer styles are a reflection of that.

While there’s a long way to go, I can get on board with what I’m seeing. I personally wish that Victoria’s Secret would carry other brands, but given how they reclaimed their Designer Lingerie Collection by moving it in-house, I’m afraid that that likelihood is slim to none.

In Part 2, I’ll review my most recent purchases; in fact, the very pieces that got me to shop with them.

Leave a Reply

