The Museum at FIT – Exposed: A History of Lingerie Exhibit

I went to NYC the second week of September and had a great time! NYC has so many wonderful lingerie boutiques, and I was so excited to visit them in person. Unfortunately, the weather was completely miserable. It was as hot and insufferable as Houston, but unlike my hometown, the air conditioning and ceiling fan game was abysmal!

Due to the humidity and heat from all of the walking, I was the equivalent of a damp sponge. I could not bring myself to try on any lingerie without feeling like I should take a cold shower, so I didn’t. I just browsed and lusted.

I visited Brooklyn Fox, Honey, Agent Provocateur, Journelle, and Bloomingdale’s. Lingerie heaven.

The highlight of my trip, however, was the amazing exhibit at FIT’s Museum: Exposed: A History of Lingerie.

Exposed: A History of Lingerie

The exhibit is relatively small, but it is so well-curated. It took me about an hour to read and look at everything from start to finish, and not once was I bored. They had a nice variety of pieces from each period, my favorite being the dressing gowns from the 20s and 30s. I would totally serve high tea just to wear these gowns. I wish I had photographs to share, but alas, no photography allowed!

The museum is free, but it’s so well-done that it almost seems like it shouldn’t be free. This exhibit runs through November 15, so definitely check it out if you’re in town! There’s a subway station that literally drops you outside of FIT, and it’s sooo easy to get to. If you aren’t able to make it, please peruse the the online exhibit to take a look at all the fabulous pieces featured.

The exhibition also released a companion book, which I plan on purchasing in the near future.

(By the way, I went to the Museum of Sex beforehand, and I would recommend you to not waste your money there. The exhibits were, IMO, of a poor/low/amateur quality, and I’d rather advise you to spend $20 on a lap dance instead.)

Leave a Reply

