Rebirth: In the Name of Venus… (Sailor Moon eBay Lingerie Set Review)

I’m back!

You know what else is back? Sailor Moon Crystal!

I don’t want much anime or read much manga anymore, but this… This is a total throwback to my high school years. If there’s one series that I truly loved, it was Sailor Moon. To me, Sailor Moon is mahou shoujo all bottled up. It’s quintessential to the genre: it had a juicy storyline, an intricate past, and it was bundled up into a cute magical package that appealed to my inner tormented teen.

Sailor V aka Sailor Venus was and still is my faaaavorite. I loved the prequel that Naoko Takeuchi wrote, and I will always have a special place in my heart for Minako-chan, the silly, food-loving, loyal and bubbly blonde who is struggling to find a work and love balance. :)

Sailor Moon has always been a merchandise cow, but painfully enough, a lot of the goods are just a pain in the ass to get. The dedicated and obsessed fan base doesn’t make it easier. Unsurprisingly, the Peach John x Sailor Moon collaboration sold out within a blink of an eye. (And I quickly found out that scalpers were milking it for all that it’s worth.)

After seeing Lamb transform into her Sailor Moon set on Instagram, I did what any self-respecting girl would do: hit up eBay. I ended up purchasing a Sailor Venus set from this seller. I managed to snag one at auction price for $8.50 including shipping. (Some of these sets can go for next to nothing.)

Sizing on these sets is 100% restrictive. I saw that some other sellers had other sizes (S, M, L vs. the dreaded ONE SIZE FITS ALL), but truthfully, I wasn’t too comfortable on paying $25-30 for a set that wouldn’t fit me. I paid on June 22, and I received my item today.
Sailor Venus eBay Set

The lingerie set was packed in a little padded envelope, so unfortunately, the polyester satin got suuuuper wrinkled. I’ll press those out later. The quality is pretty decent for what I paid, but it’s honestly not the best; the materials do feel costumey. Manage your expectations! ;) I’m happy especially since I paid less than $10. The set also came with a little choker – again, not great quality, and the stone was glued on crookedly. (I wasn’t expecting the choker, and this part is the easiest thing to make anyway.)

Here’s a close up of the bra top. It’s pretty much a white poly stretch bra with a sailor bib sewn on to it. As you can see, okay quality – you can see the rolled hem done with a serger. There is puckering along the curves because this definitely wasn’t cut on the bias. (But again: <$10)
Sailor Venus Bra Top

Closeup: some loose/stray threads, but those are easily snipped off.
Sailor Venus Bra Closeup

Now, the big question: SIZING.

Miraculously, this actually fit me pretty well. My bust is about 36-37″ and underbust, 32-33″. I feel that the band is ridiculously stretchy; I could wear this on the tightest hook and still have enough room to fit a fist. That being said, I do wear it on the 2nd hook because any tighter, the wires would be the slightest bit too narrow.

The panties are, max, a medium; the material is soft and stretchy. If you’re a large or any bigger, they will not fit you. If you have large hips, they will not fit you. (My hips are about 37-38″ now.) They were cutting it reeeeally close to not fitting me! I did notice that the orange from the bib was not an exact match to the orange on the panties, but it’s all good – no big deal.

I’m not bragging to be a photographer, nor am I particularly stoked about posing or how my arms look (I’ve been lifting!!), but hey, I just got off of work, was a sweaty mess, but still busted out my camera, so I could at least attach a photo to this review. ;) Please also enjoy my horrible post-sunburned thighs (guess who forgot to put on sunblock underneath her shorts and decided to frolic on the beach?).

So ~*magical moon kingdom*~
Sailor Venus eBay Set - Worn

This set was purchased by me on eBay.

4 comments
  1. slowdear said:

    This looks amazing on you! What size did you buy? I think I would need a medium bottom and small top. But if the bottoms are all one size then I will get small. Thanks!

    • Thanks for stopping by! I bought the one-size version. I didn’t want to spend $20-25 on a set that was sized S, M, L and have it not fit as expected.

      I’d check to see if the seller will allow you to mix sizes, but as far as I know, if you buy an M size, you get the M-sized bra and panties (if they aren’t one size).

      • slowdear said:

        I see. Thank you! I went with the medium. I hope it fits.

      • Please let me know how the sizing works for you! I’ll be more than happy to link to your blog (if you have one) for sizing review, or update my post to reflect your comments. :)

Leave a Reply

