Leg Avenue Bodysuit 86502 – “Nude”& Black Review

I really didn’t mean for so much time to pass between updates! However, I have been dealing with huge computer problems that most likely culminated into losing my hard drive despite all my backups (thanks, FileVault). I had some hardware replaced, but dealing with Mavericks and seeing that iPhoto is no longer part of the OS, it’s been fun: a lot of fun.

Recently, I’ve been very interested in more affordable lingerie options, especially in light of computer repairs and 2 inconclusive vet visits. And honestly, I don’t always want to spend $50 on panties or a bra when I buy lingerie; sometimes I want inexpensive, fun pieces! :)

I’ve always had a special place in my heart for Leg Avenue. Their hosiery and awesomely trashy lingerie got me hooked on undergarments that weren’t white, beige, or black. Lately, Leg Avenue has been putting out some pretty stuff with their Vixen Collection. I really liked a lot of what I saw and found myself browsing through their other items.

After flipping through various online catalogues, this lovely bodysuit caught my eye:
Leg Avenue Bodysuit (86502) - Stock
Image from Rakuten

This is officially called, “Mesh Halter Underwire Teddy with Vintage Girdle Stitching.” It’s style number is 86502. I purchased mine for ~$18 including shipping.

There is visible contrast stitching on the black strap detailing which doesn’t appear in the stock photos or in most photographs taken from afar):
Leg Avenue Bodysuit (86502) - Detail

This bodysuit is sized S, M, L and has lightly padded underwire cups. I purchased the M, and fit-wise, it’s kind of meh. I manage to convince myself every time that underwire cups with general sizing will work on me, but it rarely ever works out. The bodysuit is made of a stretchy soft mesh, which is almost too large on me. However, the cups are too small, the gore doesn’t tack, and the band is too big and stretchy. I probably would size down, but there’s no way that I could get my entire bust into an S. To me, that’s saying something since I *usually* wear a 34B or a 36A…

I bent the wires a bit, so that it would encompass my breast tissue a bit better despite scoop scoop scooping. Since I don’t expect to get any support from this, I am somewhat tempted to cut out the underwires…

I think this bodysuit would be a lot better if there wasn’t an underwire in the bust, especially since it’s sized S, M, and L; it would definitely encompass a lot more sizes, but the bra-top makes it borderline size restrictive. Given that the vixen lingerie collection is sized similarly, I am extremely hesitant to invest into the pieces that have a built-in padded underwire. (The bralettes are also a bit questionable, too, even without the wire. I’ll address this in another review, but the cups end up being too large despite the firm band.)

I do like this bodysuit, but I may make some modifications to it. We’ll see!

Here’s how it looks on me, even with a few pounds I’m carrying thanks to all the poor eating decisions I’ve been making:
Leg Avenue Bodysuit (86502) - Front Pic

I like it styled with the fake leather jacket I studded by hand, though. :D Seems super punk rock, especially when you aren’t wearing pants. :D

Leg Avenue Bodysuit (86502) - Styled
Bodysuit is Leg Avenue, garter is from Beautifully Bound, jacket is some random brand purchased from Marshalls hand-studded by me, and shoes are Melissa.

All items in this post were purchased by me except for the shoes, which were a present from my NY gal, Sue! :D

Leave a Reply

