Maison Close Bel Ami Garter Dress Review

In a stroke of unparalleled genius, I managed to drop a 45 lb barbell from shoulder-height right on top of my left foot. Searing hot white pain behind the eyes? Check. Thankfully, nothing appears to be broken, but I’ll see how it goes the next few days…

Has anyone else been shopping Journelle‘s semi annual sale? It’s been a year since I purchased some new “nice” lingerie, and I’ve been making out like a bandit. There are still a lot of gorgeous pieces left at awesome prices. I stocked up on Mimi Holliday and picked up some new brands that I’m happy to include in the lingerie box. :) More on this to come!

Given the fact that I’m currently incapacitated, time to hit the archives…

Maison Close has been one of my favorite French brands: unwaveringly sexy, a bit naughty, with a touch of class. I love the range of their collections and enjoy collecting the pieces that I like the most, especially from Villa Cancan.

I couldn’t find any stock photos for this piece, but this garter dress is from Maison Close’s Bel Ami collection that was released in 2010. The rose pink version is shown here on Forty Winks’ blog.
Bel Ami Garter Dress (full)

I always get a bit wary buying Maison Close online; depending on the fabric, some pieces have no stretch. This Bel Ami garter dress is very soft and stretchy, and I probably could’ve gone down a size… (For the record, I bought a Medium.) But with underwires in slips, I can never properly fit into a small even though I’m small busted due to the shape of my breasts.

Three panel construction in the cups with pretty keyhole detail!
Bel Ami Garter Dress (front closeup)

Three gold-toned hooks in the “band.” I personally prefer wearing this as a slip over a bra/panties – best if the bra doesn’t have underwires.
Bel Ami Garter Dress (back closeup)

Gold-toned hardware on the garters/garter grips.
Bel Ami Garter Dress (garters)

Paired with undies, stockings, and heels for a classic look. :D
Bel Ami Garter Dress (worn)

I’m lusting hard after Maison Close’s new collection, Chambre des Secrets. The leatherette paired with the mesh is love. I’m really digging the fetish/S&M elements that have become increasingly popular in lingerie. My two faves? (NSFW, btw): open cup bodysuit and catsuit. How I’d wear the catsuit? Underneath a billowy blouse that covers your bum – it’ll be your little secret to keep or share. ;)

All items in this post were purchased by me.

Leave a Reply

